RSS

Safe summer tanning

22 Jun

I used to be a sun worshiper. I have a very fair complexion (Yep – that’s where Jenna gets it), and I always felt self-conscious about my pasty whiteness. In the summertime, it seems even more pasty in comparison to all the other gorgeously bronzed individuals inhabiting the earth. During high school and college, I laid out in the sun whenever I could. Toward the end of college, I started regularly using a tanning bed. After about a year and a half of pretty regular tanning bed usage, I noticed a dramatic increase in the number of freckles dotting my body. Perhaps maturity and wisdom had finally found me, as I thought to myself, “Skin cancer would be a BAD thing and maybe I need to stop behaving as if I’m immune to developing it.” No more tanning beds for me. Back to pasty whiteness.

Having a baby did wonders for many of my “vanity” issues. Suddenly, none of that stuff seemed nearly as important. Alas, this issue wasn’t one to go. I still bemoan being melanin-challenged, especially in the summer when more of that pasty white skin is exposed. Over the last few years, I’ve tried many a self tanner, with mostly frustrating results. Sure, I got a little color, but it often didn’t look natural, or ended up streaking or splotching no matter how much exfoliating and moisturizing I did beforehand. This summer, I finally found the wonder product I’d been dreaming of in the lotion aisle of Target.

Neutrogena Summer Glow with SPF 20

That’s right! It even has SPF 20! No more slathering on self tanner only to follow with more goopy sunscreen. One step and you’re done. The color builds gradually and looks natural, even on my fair skin. I’ve had no problems with streaking or splotching, it has a nice, light smell and feel, and it dries/absorbs quickly. I also haven’t had any problems with it rubbing off on clothes like some products do. I use it every other day for a nice, hint of sun. If you applied it every day, you could probably get a darker look. So… Bye-bye pasty whiteness – – Hello capri pants!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 22, 2008 in Product Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
