RSS

Papersalt Books Giveaway

25 Sep
Image

The winner = Punkinmamma! Congratulations! I’ll be contacting you for shipping information! Thanks to everyone who commented! 

I was given the wonderful opportunity to review books from Papersalt, and I couldn’t be more impressed with this company or their products! From their website:

“We make books and activities to help parents teach life lessons and simple things all kids should know. We are parents. We have spent years building content around families. At our best as parents and family members, we still always need help. That’s why we started Papersalt. Building and nurturing your family is the hardest thing you’ll do. With so much media in front of us, we realize thatsimple, memorable, engaging content is extremely effective. Content for all books, games and artwork is researched and written by us and our families. And we produce all of the items in our Seattle facility.”

They boast: “simple ideas, memorable content, cool designs.” And they’re so very right!

I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I do, and I did with these. Just take a look at that photo above! They’re beautiful! The pages are thick and sturdy, so small hands can easily “help,” and they’ll hold up to lots of use. The spiral binding is strong, not flimsy, and allows for easy reading. The quality is obvious, PLUS, they’re simply beautiful to look at! They have gorgeous colors, simple but eye-catching artwork, and easy to read text.

Here’s a peek inside the books I reviewed:

Image

Dinner Table Manners is full of lots of fantastic, tips that several grownups I’ve met would do good to review. Like the one above. Ahem. Another example is: “Keep dinner table conversation polite – no gross things and no mean things.” And here’s one I wasn’t aware of {blushes}: “Once silverware is picked up from the table, it NEVER touches the table again.” Oops. You learn something new every day!

Image

Being a Girl is full of all kinds of wisdom that I certainly want Jenna to know. The example above is one of my favorites, but I also love these: “The internet is amazing. It is not always truthful.” and “If it makes you feel uncomfortable, something is wrong. Stop. If it’s lying, cheating, putting yourself in danger, hurting others.” and this one: “When someone tells you that you’re beautiful, say thank you. Don’t roll your eyes or say ‘no I’m not.’ You truly are.” This list goes on, because the whole book is fantastic. There’s also one called Being a Boy with some of the same wisdom, plus some specifically geared for boys.

Image

We Do lists the positive things that your family stands FOR instead of all the things that are against the rules. I love this positive slant on family values. The one above is possibly my favorite, but I love them all including this one: “We do quality time. We turn things off, put things down, and pay attention to each other.” A reminder that mom and dad probably need to hear just as often as the kiddos. Ahem.

Image

Finally, I reviewed the new Voting & the U.S. Government. In a nutshell, it’s a book that finally helped me understand the Electoral College. It might be a miracle. Seriously, the entire book summarizes our political system, the branches of government, taxes and how voting works better than most I have seen. It’s clearly organized, simply worded, written with language that’s easy to understand and illustrated in a fun and engaging way. I do think that this book is geared toward older kids. It will help us answer questions with Jenna (who’s 6) right now, but to sit and read the entire book would quickly lose her interest.

The other three books that I reviewed above are suitable for ages 3 and up, in my opinion. If your child will sit still for reading, they’ll be engaged and listen to at least a couple pages at a time. Jenna especially loved Dinner Table Manners and sat through the whole thing with interest.

Papersalt has many other books covering other important topics, including books for teens, a beautiful guided journal, and “Good Stuff for the Brain.” Check out all the fantastic titles at their website. I know the guided journal “Me” and “Good Stuff for the Brain” are both going on my personal wish list!

These books would make fantastic gifts for graduates, new parents, friends, etc. Christmas is only 3 months away, so start shopping early! I know I’d love to receive any of their products as a gift.

Because I love you all, I’m giving my copy of Dinner Table Manners to one lucky reader! Simply leave a comment at this post to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly on Sunday, September 30 at 11p.m. EST. I’ll notify the winner via email on Monday, so make sure you post a valid address with your comment. I’ll also post the results here for all to see.

Disclaimer: Papersalt generously sent me the four books I reviewed, but the opinions stated are all my own. I seriously love their products. If I didn’t – I’d tell you. 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2012 in Jenna

 

12 responses to “Papersalt Books Giveaway

  1. Dana Flaherty

    September 26, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Love this concept, and the designs are very eye-catching…

     
  2. Jenny

    September 27, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Very interested in seeing these books myself. I help with my organizations family-oriented Facebook, and I’m always sharing information from Papersalt. I would love to win a copy.

     
  3. Mighty Hunter

    September 27, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Great looking books, great ideas. Love this.

     
  4. kat-tastik

    September 27, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Papersalt books look to be the perfect reminders SO many parents need!

    mamakat@writeme.com

     
  5. punkinmama1

    September 28, 2012 at 8:04 am

    These look amazing! I’m going to have to look into them further once things settle down around here! ;)

     
  6. illbeyourwater

    September 30, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    I am going to have look into these (especially the “We Do” one) for my little ones.

    Delana

     
  7. Jelly Babies

    November 22, 2012 at 7:52 am

    These look fantastic.

     
  8. public relations agency

    March 1, 2013 at 4:33 am

    Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand
    your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a great website.

     
  9. adult sharing adult stories adult sharing

    March 12, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up and the rest of the
    website is really good.

     
  10. pct for steroid

    May 25, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

     
  11. text-flirting.textflirtingtips.net

    May 31, 2013 at 1:43 am

    I’ve read a few just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you set to make one of these wonderful informative web site.

     
  12. B

    July 7, 2013 at 2:05 am

    How is Jenna doing with eating by mouth? Any improvements?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

